The Way Gummy Bears Are Made Is The Grossest Thing You’ll See This Week

July 12, 2018

There’s nothing better than gummy bears. Other than gummy worms. But hey, we all have our own individual preferences. Even though gummy candy is popular and delicious, it — like all of the things we love in life — has kind of a terrible backstory. Gummy lovers, proceed with caution.

In a video, filmmaker Alina Kneepkens broke down what makes your gummies so gummy. By now, you’ve probably come to terms with the fact that these candies include a fair amount of gelatin — a product that’s made with animal byproducts. Gelatin is a water-soluble protein that’s found within the collagen of these animal parts. That’s why vegans, and some vegetarians, choose to avoid products that include it.

The process is a bit more grisly than you think. Even though it’s hard for animal lovers to watch, it’s also important to realize what goes into making our favorite foods. Kneepkens created a video that shows it all happening in reverse, starting with a yummy gummy and ending with a pig that’s too cute for words.

Next time you think about picking up some Haribo Happy Colas, you might want to think of this disturbing video. Watch it here:

 

Over eten – De weg van een snoepje from Eén on Vimeo.

If you’re sporting a frown, you’re not the only one. Now here’s some good news — if the movie disturbed you, you should know that there are plenty of vegan-friendly gummies out there. For example, Sour Patch Kids are vegan, and so are Swedish fish. If you like chewy candy, Twizzlers are also safe for vegans, as are Dots.

Perhaps in the future, all gummies will find a way to become gelatin-free. It’d make candy lovers feel a little better about enjoying their favorites.